The Original ‘Capriccio’

The cover of the original ‘Capriccio’ by Ted Hughes, illustrated by Leonard Baskin.


[An excerpt from my essay, “The Lost Poems of Ted Hughes”]

Hughes’ collection of twenty poems, Capriccio,was produced in 1990 as a beautiful boxed volume with leather covers. Printed on hand-made paper, and at $4000 a copy, the book was designed to be rare.[1]Each of the fifty volumes was signed by the author, and also by the illustrator, Leonard Baskin, whose company Gehenna Press was the publisher. (Ironically, ‘Gehenna’ is the Hebrew word for ‘Hell’, perhaps a reflection of the dark themes of these poems.)

In the many biographies, reviews, and scholarly works on Ted Hughes and his poetry, the sequence Capriccio barely gets a mention. It is seen as a minor work compared to such better-known collections as The Hawk in the RainLupercalGaudetteBirthday Lettersor Crow. For example, Diane Middlebrook, in her biography of Hughes, devotes a chapter to his Birthday Letters, Hughes’ homage to Sylvia Plath, but only a few lines to Capriccio.[2]

Next to Hughes’ award-winning Birthday Letters, the autobiographical nature of Capriccio went barely noticed for many years. In 1990, when the book was published, few people knew of the affair between Ted Hughes and Assia Wevill. Five years later, when eight of the twenty poems were reprinted in New Selected Poems, 1957-1994, there was still no revelation of Assia as the woman addressed in Capriccio. Hughes himself said, in a letter to Seamus Healey in 1998, that his poems about Assia were ‘written very differently’ to those about Sylvia. Indeed, Ted Hughes told Assia’s biographers, Eilat Negev and Yehuda Koren,  that he felt the poems were so obscure, most people wouldn’t realise he’d ‘given his secret away’.[1] 

Cover of ‘Lover of Unreason’, by Yehuda Koren and Eilat Negev

[1]Yehuda Koren and Eilat Negev, ‘Lover of Unreason,’ NY, Carroll & Graf, 2007

[1]Feinstein, Elaine, The Life of a Poet, London, Weidenfeld & Nicholson,    2001

[2]Middlebrook, Diane, Her Husband, Little, Brown, 2004



4 Comments Add yours

  1. kit149n says:

    This is fascinating. Where can I get a copy of the Capriccio poems?


    1. The Collected Poems of Ted Hughes, ed. Paul Keegan, contains all 20 poems of Capriccio.


  2. I am typically to blogging and i really recognize your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and keep checking for brand new information.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s